South Africa announce 16-member squad for New Zealand series, Chloe Tyron returns
2 mins read

South Africa announce 16-member squad for New Zealand series, Chloe Tyron returns

After the current ODI series against Pakistan, South Africa will be taking on New Zealand in a three-match ODI series and a five-match T20I series, starting September 24 in Pietermaritzburg. Notably, the Laura Wolvaardt-led side suffered a humiliating 3-0 defeat at the hands of Pakistan in the T20I series but fought back and won the first two ODIs of the series. They would aim to continue in the same momentum as this is the final ODI series they will play in this calendar year.

Meanwhile, star all-rounder Chloe Tryon, who missed the series against Pakistan, will be making her return to the squad. Other than that, the Proteas have named a similar squad for the series against White Ferns. Reflecting on that, Clinton du Preez, South Africa Women Convenor of Selectors, spoke about the importance of maintaining a consistent contingent in international cricket.

“Maintaining squad consistency is key, to allow players to grow within the environment. We are very happy to have Chloé Tryon back within the space and excited to see how she will further improve the squad with her all-round qualities. We go into the New Zealand series on a high and we want to carry the momentum into the tour at home.

“It was always going to be very difficult to adapt to the conditions in Pakistan. However, I’m pleased with how the team competed in the T20Is, where they narrowly missed out on winning games. It remained small margins and one can see how the players have learned from their shortcomings and brought it into the ODI format. There are many positives, and one that stands out for me is the shared individual performances of the players,” Clinton was quoted as saying by ICC.

South Africa squad: Laura Wolvaardt (c), Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Nadine de Klerk, Mieke de Ridder, Lara Goodall, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Suné Luus, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune, Nondumiso Shangase, Chloe Tryon, Delmi Tucker.

#South #Africa #announce #16member #squad #Zealand #series #Chloe #Tyron #returns

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *