5 mins read

The Venues of World Cup 2023 – A Detailed Lookup

The World Cup 2023 is a historic event for India. And India is hosting the 50-over World Cup solely for the first time.

They did it for the first time in 1987, then again nine years later in 1996, and finally in 2011, but each time they were joint hosts, with Sri Lanka, Pakistan, or Bangladesh hosting some of the matches. 

All 48 matches, including the knockouts and final, will be held in ten cities this time: Ahmedabad, Hyderabad, Dharamsala, Delhi, Lucknow, Pune, Bengaluru, Chennai, Mumbai, and Kolkata.

Teams Participating in the ICC ODI World Cup 2023

This year’s World Cup will include ten teams. India qualified immediately as the hosts, as did Afghanistan, Australia, England, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Pakistan, and South Africa via the 2020-2023 ICC Cricket World Cup Super League.

Two more teams qualified for the main event through the World Cup Qualifiers, which were held in Zimbabwe in June and July. The Qualifiers featured Ireland, Nepal, the Netherlands, Oman, Scotland, the UAE, the United States, and hosts Zimbabwe, in addition to former champions Sri Lanka and the West Indies.

While Sri Lanka and the Netherlands qualified for the World Cup through qualifiers, the West Indies failed due to a poor performance in the ICC World Cup qualifier.

ODI World Cup 2023 Venues

City Stadium Name  Capacity
Ahmedabad Narendra Modi Stadium 1,20,000
Kolkata Eden Gardens 66,000
Hyderabad Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium 55,000
Lucknow BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium 55,000
Chennai M. A. Chidambaram Stadium 50,000
Delhi Arun Jaitley Stadium 41,820
Bengaluru M. Chinnaswamy Stadium 40,000
Pune Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium 37,406
Mumbai Wankhede Stadium 33,000
Dharamshala HPCA Stadium 23,000

In addition to the ten venues for the main event, the warm-up games will be held at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati and the Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram. Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad will also host two warm-up matches.

Except for the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad, which will hold three matches, each stadium will host five. The tournament’s opening and closing matches will be held at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium. Eden Gardens in Kolkata and Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai will each host one semi-final match.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 will have 48 matches in total. The event will be played in a Round-Robin format, with 45 group-stage games, two semi-final matches, and one final.

Also Read | The Format of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

The following is a complete list of the matches that each stadium will host:

Narendra Modi Stadium (Ahmedabad)

Match Date
England vs. New Zealand October 5
India vs. Pakistan October 14
England vs. Australia November 4
South Africa vs. Afghanistan November 10
Final (T.B.C. vs. T.B.C.) November 19

Eden Gardens (Kolkata)

Match Date
Netherlands vs. Bangladesh October 28
Pakistan vs. Bangladesh October 31
India vs. South Africa November 5
England vs. Pakistan November 11
Semi-Final 2 (T.B.C. vs. T.B.C.) November 16

Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium (Hyderabad)

Match Date
Pakistan vs. Netherlands October 6
New Zealand vs. Netherlands October 9
Pakistan vs. Sri Lanka October 10

Ekana Cricket Stadium (Lucknow)

Match Date
Australia vs. South Africa October 12
Australia vs. Sri Lanka October 16
Netherlands vs. Sri Lanka October 21
India vs. England October 29
Netherlands vs. Afghanistan November 3

M. A. Chidambaram Stadium (Chennai)

Match Date
India vs. Australia October 8
New Zealand vs. Bangladesh October 13
New Zealand vs. Afghanistan October 18
Pakistan vs. Afghanistan October 23
Pakistan vs. South Africa October 27

Arun Jaitley Stadium (Delhi)

Match Date
South Africa vs. Sri Lanka October 7
India vs. Afghanistan October 11
England vs. Afghanistan October 15
Australia vs. Netherlands October 25
Bangladesh vs. Sri Lanka November 6

M. Chinnaswamy Stadium (Bengaluru)

Match Date
Australia vs. Pakistan October 20
England vs. Sri Lanka October 26
New Zealand vs. Pakistan November 4
New Zealand vs. Sri Lanka November 9
India vs. Netherlands November 12

Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium (Pune)

Match Date
India vs. Bangladesh October 19
Afghanistan vs. Sri Lanka October 30
New Zealand vs. South Africa November 1
England vs. Netherlands November 8
Australia vs. Bangladesh November 11

Wankhede Stadium (Mumbai)

Match Date
England vs. South Africa October 21
South Africa vs. Bangladesh October 24
India vs. Sri Lanka November 2
Australia vs. Afghanistan November 7
Semi-Final 1 (T.B.C. vs. T.B.C.) November 15

HPCA Stadium (Dharamshala)

Match Date
Bangladesh vs. Afghanistan October 7
England vs. Bangladesh October 10
South Africa vs. Netherlands October 17
India vs. New Zealand October 22
Australia vs. New Zealand October 28

The BCCI has provided funding to all host associations in order to enhance the tournament venues. Newer stadiums, such as the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad and the Ekana Stadium in Lucknow, are in better shape and will only require aesthetic upgrades. In addition, many stadiums’ outfields have recently been resurfaced in order to improve playing conditions.

I am a freelance content writer and associated with  CricIndeed.I am an Experienced content writer who is skilled in researching, writing, and compelling content. I have provided a result-driven production of meaningful content for various media platforms.

#Venues #World #Cup #Detailed #Lookup

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *