Colin Munro gets signed by Brisbane Heat until 2026

By extending the contract of former New Zealand batter Colin Munro for an additional two seasons, Brisbane Heat have made a significant step in defending their BBL championship.

Munro, who participated in 428 T20 matches across several leagues and announced his retirement from international cricket earlier this year after missing New Zealand’s T20 World Cup selection, amassed 10,961 runs at a career strike-rate of 141.25, including five centuries and 67 half-centuries.

Here’s what Munro said on the matter

Colin Munro will lead a strong Heat line-up, alongside Australia’s Usman Khawaja and Matt Renshaw, and wants to be part of a championship side.

“It was pretty poignant being away and watching the boys go one better to win the title, after going through the disappointment of the previous season when we got beaten at the death in the final,'” Munro said.

“It’s a strong squad again and I’m looking forward to being part of what we can build together. There are always opportunities to get better and as a group, we should be excited about the new goals we will pursue this summer.”

Here’s the men’s squad for Brisbane Heat ahead of the draft

While the official draft for this season will take place in September, Brisbane Heat has these players in their roster as of now. Some of these players have been retained by the team, while the others have been signed as a pre-draft move.

Brisbane Heat: Xavier Bartlett, Spencer Johnson, Usman Khawaja, Matthew Kuhnemann, Nathan McSweeney, Michael Neser, Jimmy Peirson, Will Prestwidge, Matthew Renshaw, Mitchell Swepson

Out: Josh Brown (Renegades), Sam Billings (Thunder)

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on WhatsApp, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like