From Irfan Pathan to Virat Kohli: Players who won Man of the Match award in the Men’s T20 World Cup final

The stage was set for a gripping final as India and South Africa, the two unbeaten teams of the tournament, squared off in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 final. With a wealth of talent on both sides, anticipation was high for an epic battle to determine the champion.

Virat Kohli’s heroics seal India’s triumph

In a match defined by high stakes and tense moments, Virat Kohli emerged as the hero for India. His exceptional innings of 76 runs not only anchored India’s innings but also propelled them to a narrow 7-run victory over a resilient South African side. Kohli’s performance under pressure earned him the Man of the Match award, underscoring his pivotal role in securing India’s victory in the prestigious tournament.

Historical context of T20 World Cup performances

Throughout the history of the ICC T20 World Cup, standout performances have often been the catalysts for team success. In the context of this tournament, the Man of the Match award has predominantly recognized outstanding batting displays, with notable contributions also coming from exceptional bowling efforts and all-round performances. In the nine editions of the ICC T20 World Cup held so far, the Man of the Match award has been distributed as follows: batting performances have been recognized six times, bowling displays twice, and all-round performances once.

Also WATCH: Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma lead Team India’s celebration following T20 World Cup win

Players awarded Man of the Match in the Men’s T20 World Cup final:

1. Irfan Pathan (India, 2007):

  • Overall Performance: Irfan Pathan was a key bowler for India throughout the 2007 T20 World Cup, consistently taking wickets and maintaining an impressive economy rate.
  • Final Performance: In the final against Pakistan, Pathan was exceptional, taking 3 crucial wickets for just 16 runs in his 4 overs.
  • Contribution: His early breakthroughs dismantled Pakistan’s top order, setting the stage for India’s successful chase and eventual victory.

2. Shahid Afridi (Pakistan, 2009):

  • Overall Performance: Shahid Afridi played a crucial all-round role for Pakistan in the 2009 T20 World Cup, contributing with both bat and ball in key matches.
  • Final Performance: In the final against Sri Lanka, Afridi scored a quickfire 54 runs off 40 balls and took 1 wicket for 20 runs in his 4 overs.
  • Contribution: His aggressive batting provided momentum to Pakistan’s innings, and his economical bowling helped restrict Sri Lanka, contributing significantly to their victory.

3. Craig Kieswetter (England,2010):

  • Overall Performance: Craig Kieswetter was a key player for England throughout the 2010 T20 World Cup, showcasing consistent batting performances at the top of the order.
  • Final Performance: In the final against Australia, Kieswetter played a crucial innings of 63 runs off 49 balls.
  • Contribution: His innings provided England with a solid start along side Kevin Pietersen, laying the foundation for a competitive chase in the final match.

4. Marlon Samuels (West Indies, 2012):

  • Overall Performance: Marlon Samuels was a standout performer for the West Indies throughout the 2012 T20 World Cup, scoring consistently and playing crucial roles in pressure situations.
  • Final Performance: In the final against Sri Lanka, Samuels played a match-winning innings of 78 runs off 56 balls.
  • Contribution: His innings anchored West Indies’ chase, ensuring they reached the target comfortably and won their first T20 World Cup title.

5. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka, 2014):

  • Overall Performance: Kumar Sangakkara‘s form leading up to the final was not as prolific as expected, with modest contributions in earlier matches of the tournament.
  • Final Performance: Despite this, in the final against India, Sangakkara played a crucial innings, scoring 52 not out off 35 balls.
  • Contribution: His innings in the final was pivotal in guiding Sri Lanka to a competitive total and ultimately helped them secure the T20 World Cup title.

6. Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies, 2016):

  • Overall Performance: Carlos Brathwaite emerged as a powerful all-rounder for West Indies in the 2016 T20 World Cup, making impactful contributions with both bat and ball.
  • Final Performance: In the final against England, Brathwaite scored a memorable 34 runs off just 10 balls, including 4 consecutive sixes in the final over, and took 3 wickets for 23 runs.
  • Contribution: His explosive batting in the final overs turned the game in West Indies’ favor, clinching victory in a thrilling finish and showcasing his match-winning capabilities.

7. Mitchell Marsh (Australia, 2021):

  • Overall Performance: Throughout the 2021 T20 World Cup, Mitchell Marsh consistently contributed with both bat and occasional bowling spells.
  • Final Performance: Marsh played a crucial innings of 77* runs off 50 balls in the final against New Zealand, showcasing his ability to score quickly under pressure.
  • Contribution: His innings in the final helped Australia set a competitive total, contributing significantly to their victory.

8. Sam Curran (England, 2022):

  • Overall Performance: Leading up to the 2022 T20 World Cup final, Sam Curran was a consistent performer with the ball, regularly taking wickets and maintaining tight spells.
  • Final Performance: Curran bowled impressively, taking 3 wickets for 12 runs in his 4 overs against Pakistan in the final.
  • Contribution: His bowling performance in the final was crucial in restricting Pakistan’s batting lineup, contributing significantly to England’s victory.

9.Virat Kohli (India, 2024):

  • Overall Performance: Before the 2024 T20 World Cup final, Kohli had struggled, scoring only 75 runs in 7 innings.
  • Final Performance: In the final against South Africa, Kohli turned it around with a vital innings of 76 runs off 59 balls.
  • Contribution: His composed batting in the final anchored India’s innings, setting a competitive total and playing a crucial role in their victory.

Also WATCH: SA vs IND: Emotional Virat Kohli talks to Anushka Sharma and their kids on video call after clinching T20 World Cup 2024 title

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like
Read More

Thief jailed for one year

One year! That was the time Andrew Sylvester Moore was sentenced to prison for his most recent theft.…