ICC declared record-breaking money for the teams; Winner will get INR 20 Crore

The ongoing ICC T20 World Cup 2024 is coming to an end. After 53 electrifying cricket matches played between the top 20 teams across the world at nine different venues, we have our first finalists. South Africa beat Afghanistan in the first semifinal to qualify for the finals, and they will face the winner of the second semifinal between India and England.

The grandfinal of the tournament is scheduled to take place on June 29 (Saturday) at Kensington Oval in Barbados. It has been a grand tournament, and for the first time, a total of 20 teams participated in the edition. Adding to that, the International Cricket Council (ICC) also tried to crack the US market to give this game more exposure. That’s why, for the first time, an ICC event took place in the United States.

To some extent, this move has benefited and given a push to this game in the USA. However, the ICC has also announced a record-breaking sum of prize money for this tournament for every team, which is more than the previous tournaments. Here we will talk about the distribution of prize money in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024.

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: International Cricket Council announces a Record sum as Prize Money for all teams

T20 World Cup 2024 Prize Money ICC declared record breaking money for the teams Winner will get INR 20 CroreT20 World Cup 2024 Prize Money ICC declared record breaking money for the teams Winner will get INR 20 Crore
Credit: T20 World Cup 2022

The ICC has announced a total of 11.5 million USD in prize money for the tournament, which is more than the double of the last edition (USD 5.6 million in 2022). This is more than the previous editions of the T20 World Cups. A total of 20 teams took part, and there is something for every team. It starts with the winner of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024.

The team that wins this tournament will receive a prize money of USD 2.45 million (approximately INR 20 crore), which is more than the previous editions. England won the tournament in 2022 and won 1.6 million USD (approximately 11 crore). Meanwhile, the runners-up will receive an amount of USD 1.28 million (approximately INR 8.8 crore).

Rank Teams Prize Money (in USD)
Winner TBC 2.45 million
Runner-Up TBC 1.28 million
Losing Semi-finalists Afghanistan 787,500
Super 8 (5th to 8th) Australia, United States, West Indies, Bangladesh 382,500
9th to 12th Places New Zealand, Pakistan, Scotland, Sri Lanka 247,500
13th to 20th Places Netherlands, Nepal, Uganda, PNG, Namibia, Oman, Canada, Ireland 225,000
Note: Every win will earn an additional amount of USD 31,154

The two teams that are losing semifinalists will receive an amount of USD 787,500 each. Australia, the United States, West Indies, and Bangladesh exited the T20 World Cup 2024 in the Super 8, and all four teams will get USD 382,500 each. Meanwhile, the teams finishing between the 9th and 12th spots will get USD 247,500 each.

These teams are New Zealand, Pakistan, Scotland, and Sri Lanka. These four teams finished third in their groups during the first round. Then, the remaining eight teams that finished the tournament from 13th to 20th will receive a prize money of USD 225,000. Meanwhile, every win at any stage of the tournament, will earn an additional cash prize of USD 31,154. You can see the complete details in the table above.

Also Read: 3 Indian Players who might announce T20I retirement after T20 World Cup 2024

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like
Read More

Fresh look at Bail Act

Government plans to go back to change the Bail Act so people charged with murder and serious offences would not…