India vs Zimbabwe 2024 T20 Series Confirmed Playing 11

India vs Zimbabwe 2024 T20 Series Confirmed Playing 11

Shubman Gill to lead the Indian team as we look at the strongest playing 11 for India vs Zimbabwe 2024 T20 series.

As the Indian team gives the happy message about qualifying for the semi-final stage of the T20 World Cup 2024, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is already planning for the next series, which will give rest to the existing squad players and give an opportunity to the young ones who will take the Indian Team forward.

The BCCI on Monday, June 24 officially announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming 5-match T20 series vs Zimbabwe. Team India have rested all the active playing 11 members, and have selected a total of 15 players including a few players from the current World Cup setup. Even with the presence of Ruturaj Gaikwad and Sanju Samson, BCCI has announced Shubman Gill as the Captain of the side.

It’s a completely new setup for the Indian team as a lot of young players, who did well in the Domestic circuit, and more importantly, IPL 2024 have been given the opportunity for the T20 series. So, with the official squad in front of us as shared below, what could be the Strongest playing 11 that the Indian team can adopt for the India vs Zimbabwe 2024 T20 series? Well, let’s find out in this article.

India vs Zimbabwe 2024 Official T20 Squad for Indian Team:

Batters: Rinku Singh, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill (c) & Yashasvi Jaiswal

WKs: Dhruv Jurel & Sanju Samson

All-rounders: Abhishek Sharma, Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag & Washington Sundar

Bowlers: Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Ravi Bishnoi & Tushar Deshpande

India vs Zimbabwe 2024 T20 Series Strongest Playing 11:

Openers: Yashasvi Jaiswal & Shubman Gill

Team India have as many as 4 opening options for the Zimbabwe T20 series in the form of Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruuraj Gaikwad, and Abhishek Sharma. But which two players will open? Well, if we take the cues from the T20 World Cup squad, Yashasvi Jaiswal is confirmed to open given he is already a backup opener in the senior team.

With Yashasvi Jaiswal as the confirmed opener, we should most-likely see Shubman Gill as his opening partner. Gill is not only the Captain of the side, but, just like Jaiswal, is one of the stand-in openers. So, Ruturaj Gaikwad may bat at number 3 given the lack of batting options, and Shubman Gill will open alongside Yashasvi Jaiswal as the two best openers in the side.  

Middle-order: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson & Riyan Parag

Coming to the middle-order, India are most-likely to field Ruturaj Gaikwad at number 3. Gaikwad is a senior player as compared to Dhruv Jurel and Abhishek Sharma. So, it makes complete sense for Gaikwad to play, if not as an opener, then the number 3 position. Other than Gaikwad, Sanju Samson should play the role of the wicket-keeper, and Riyan Parag should make his debut as the middle-order batter for India. In addition, Riyan Parag’s off-spin may be utilized if India play with batting depth. 

Finishers: Rinku Singh, Nitish Reddy & Washington Sundar

Taling about the finishers, Indian fans will be happy to see Rinku Singh back in the side as the finisher. Even as Dube scored decent runs, Rinku’s batting and finishing abilities have been badly missed in the current T20 World Cup. With Rinku as one of the finishers, India will focus on batting depth, and thus, we should see Nitish Reddy and Washington Sundar as the two all-rounder finishers on the side. 

This is one playing 11 combinations that Team India can adopt. If India don’t focus on batting depth then Washington Sundar should play at number 7 as a finisher, and Mukesh Kumar should come in for Nitish Reddy to strengthen the pace department. This will make sure India have 5 solid bowling options, but a lack of batting depth is something that India will have to live with. 

Bowlers: Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed & Ravi Bishnoi

Finally, talking about bowling, India are likely to give their current traveling players, Avesh Khan and Khaleel Ahmed the opportunity to lead the pace department. Both are a part of traveling reserves for the T20 World Cup, and it only makes sense to give them the opportunity. Alongside these two, Ravi Bishnoi should lead the spin department in the absence of Kuldeep and Chahal. 

India vs Zimbabwe 2024 Strongest Playing 11 for T20 Series:

  1. Yashasvi Jaiswal
  2. Shubman Gill (c)
  3. Ruturaj Gaikwad
  4. Sanju Samson (wk)
  5. Riyan Parag
  6. Rinku Singh
  7. Nitish Reddy
  8. Washington Sundar
  9. Avesh Khan
  10. Ravi Bishnoi
  11. Khaleel Ahmed

So, that’s about the strongest India vs Zimbabwe 2024 T20 series playing 11. Overall, India will have to make decisions surrounding the batting depth or playing front-line bowlers. All eyes will be on the young guns, who are projected to take over the senior players for T20 World Cup 2026. Meanwhile, here’s the schedule for India vs Zimbabwe 2024 T20 series. 

India vs Zimbabwe 2024 T20 Series Schedule:

  • 1st T20I – July 6 @ Harare, 4:30 pm IST
  • 2nd T20I – July 7 @ Harare, 4:30 pm IST
  • 3rd T20I – July 10 @ Harare, 9:30 pm IST
  • 4th T20I – July 13 @ Harare, 4:30 pm IST
  • 5th T20I – July 14 @ Harare, 4:30 pm IST

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on the India vs Zimbabwe 2024 T20 Series playing 11? Please share your thoughts to

ALSO READ: Exclusive: Predicted Team India Squad for 2027 ODI World Cup

© Please check AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics Google Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like