Indian star Dinesh Karthik returns to IPL; takes over a new role with RCB

Following his recent retirement after the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, former Indian cricketer Dinesh Karthik is set to make a comeback in the next season of the prestigious league, this time in a different capacity.

Memorable tenure with RCB

Karthik was a significant member of the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the last IPL season. Having participated in every edition of the IPL until his retirement, Karthik had two separate spells with RCB, the latest from 2022-2024 being particularly noteworthy.

His impressive performance as a finisher in the 2022 season earned him a spot in India’s squad for the T20 World Cup in Australia. Although 2023 saw a dip in his form, he concluded his career on a high note in 2024, amassing over 300 runs with a remarkable strike rate of 187.36.

New chapter with RCB

Karthik is now set to rejoin RCB, not as a player but as part of the coaching team. On Monday, RCB announced that Karthik has been appointed as the batting coach and mentor for the RCB Men’s team for the upcoming season..

“Welcome our keeper in every sense, Dinesh Karthik, back into RCB in an all new avatar. DK will be the Batting coach and Mentor of RCB Men’s team!,” wrote RCB while making an official announcement on social media.

Also READ: Top 5 batters who cost their franchise the least per run in IPL 2024

International career highlights

Karthik represented India in 180 matches across all formats, accumulating 3,463 runs with one Test century and 17 fifties. He also made 172 dismissals, primarily as a wicketkeeper. His last appearance for India was during the 2022 T20 World Cup against Bangladesh.

Extensive IPL experience

A member of the 2007 T20 World Cup-winning squad, Karthik has extensive IPL experience, featuring in 257 games and scoring 4,842 runs at an average of 26.32. His IPL journey began with Delhi Daredevils (now Capitals), and he also played for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Mumbai Indians (MI), and Kings XI Punjab (no Punjab Kings), in addition to RCB.

Also READ: Complete list of Player of the Match winners in IPL Final since 2008 to 2024

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like