IPL Hat-Tricks list from IPL 2008 to 2023

Tata IPL 2022 Trophy, IPL Hat-Tricks list from IPL 2008 to 2021, ipl hat tricks list, list of ipl hat tricks
Tata IPL 2022 Trophy (Source: BCCI)

IPL Hat-Tricks list- In cricket, taking a hat-trick is regarded as one of the biggest achievements for a bowler. Taking three wickets in 3 consecutive balls is a dream for every bowler. In tournaments like IPL, it’s never been easy for bowlers to take a hat-trick. But still, many bowlers have achieved this feat.

In IPL total of 15 seasons have been played, and there have been a few seasons in which we haven’t seen a single hat-trick, whereas there have been a few seasons in which we have seen multiple hat-tricks. Here in this article, we list all the hat-tricks in IPL that ever happened. But before that, we will be answering the most asked questions related to hat-tricks in IPL.

1) Who took the first hat-trick in IPL?

It was Lakshmipathy Balaji of Chennai Super Kings who took the first-ever hat-trick in IPL in the inaugural season of IPL in 2008 against Punjab Kings. He dismissed Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla, and VRV Singh.

2) Who has taken the most hat tricks in IPL?

Amit Mishra has taken the most hat-tricks in IPL. He has taken a total of 3 hat-tricks in IPL. His first hat-trick was in IPL 2008 for Delhi Capitals (then Delhi Daredevils) against Deccan Chargers. Mishra’s second hat-trick was for Deccan Chargers in IPL 2011 against Punjab Kings (then Kings XI Punjab). His last and third IPL hat trick came against Pune Warriors India when he played for Sunriseres Hyderabad.

3) Which IPL season has the most IPL Hat-tricks?

IPL 2008, IPL 2009, and IPL 2017 have witnessed the most hat-tricks in a single IPL season. Total of 3 hat tricks have been taken in each of these IPL seasons.

4) Total Number of Hat-tricks in IPL till now

A total of 22 hat-tricks have been taken in 16 IPL seasons.

Also Read | Most sixes in IPL by teams

5) Which team has taken the most Hat-tricks in IPL

Rajasthan Royals have the record for the most hat-trick in IPL. Players of Rajasthan Royals have taken 5 hat-tricks in IPL.

6) Aginst which team most hat-tricks have been taken

Four hat-tricks have been taken against Kolkata Knight Riders, which is the most against a single team in IPL. After that, Mumbai Indians and Punjab Kings are the teams against whom hat-tricks have been taken three times in the IPL.

List of all the IPL Hat-tricks

S.No. Player Team Bowling Figures Against Year Players
1 Lakshmipathy Balaji Chennai Super Kings 5/24 Punjab Kings 2008 Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla, VRV Singh
2 Amit Mishra Delhi Capitals 5/17 Deccan Chargers 2008 Ravi Teja, Pragyan Ojha, RP Singh
3 Makhaya Ntini Chennai Super Kings 4/21 Kolkata Knight Riders 2008 Sourav Ganguly, Debabrata Das, David Hussey
4 Yuvraj Singh Punjab Kings 3/22 Royal Challengers Bangalore 2009 Robin Uthappa, Jacques Kallis, Mark Boucher
5 Rohit Sharma Deccan Chargers 4/6 Mumbai Indians 2009 Abishek Nayar, Harbhajan Singh, JP Duminy
6 Yuvraj Singh Punjab Kings 3/13 Deccan Chargers 2009 Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Symonds, Venugopal Rao
7 Praveen Kumar Royal Challengers Bangalore 3/18 Rajasthan Royals 2010 Damien Martyn, Sumit Narwal, Paras Dogra
8 Amit Mishra Deccan Chargers 4/9 Punjab Kings 2011 Ryan McLaren, Mandeep Singh, Ryan Harris
9 Ajit Chandila Rajasthan Royals 4/13 Pune Warriors India 2012 Jesse Rider, Sourav Ganguly, Robin Uthappa
10 Sunil Narine Kolkata Knight Riders 3/33 Punjab Kings 2013 David Hussey, Azhar Mahmood, Gurkeerat Singh
11 Amit Mishra Sunrisers Hyderabad 4/19 Pune Warriors India 2013 Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Rahul Sharma, Ashok Dinda
12 Pravin Tambe Rajasthan Royals 3/26 Kolkata Knight Riders 2014 Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate
13 Shane Watson Rajasthan Royals 3/13 Sunrisers Hyderabad 2014 Shikhar Dhawan, Moses Henriques, Karn Sharma
14 Axar Patel Punjab Kings 4/21 Gujarat Lions 2016 Dinesh Karthik, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja
15 Samuel Badree Royal Challengers Bangalore 4/9 Mumbai Indians 2017 Parthiv Patel, Mitchell McClenaghan, Rohit Sharma
16 Andrew Tye Gujarat Lions 5/17 Rising Pune Supergiants 2017 Ankit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Shardul Thakur
17 Jaydev Unadkat Rising Pune Supergiant 5/30 Sunrisers Hyderabad 2017 Bipul Sharma, Rashid Khan, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar
18 Sam Curran Punjab Kings 4/11 Delhi Capitals 2019 Harshal Patel, Kagiso Rabada, Sandeep Lamichhane
19 Shreyas Gopal Rajasthan Royals 3/12 Royal Challengers Bangalore 2019 Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Marcus Stoinis
20 Harshal Patel Royal Challengers Bangalore 4/17 Mumbai Indians 2021 Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard,Rahul Chahar
21 Yuzvendra Chahal Rajasthan Royals 5/40 Kolkata Knight Riders 2022 Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Mavi, Pat Cummins
22 Rashid Khan Gujarat Titans 3/37 Kolkata Knight Riders 2023 Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Shardul Thakur
  • Last updated on 9th April 2023.

Also Read | Teams with most 200 plus Score in IPL

Follow us for more updates on Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like