Man Of The Tournament Winners List In T20 World Cup

The T20 World Cup is the most frequently played ICC event globally. The first edition of this mega event was played in 2007 in South Africa. So far nine editions have been completed with the West Indies, England, and India winning two titles apiece while Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Australia lifted it once. In every installment, a player who outplayed everybody in terms of performance has emerged. Competing among the top players and winning the Man of the Tournament is a massive achievement, let’s have a look at the Man of the Tournament winners list in the T20 World Cup. 

2007 T20 World Cup (Shahid Afridi)

Former Pakistani all-rounder Shahid Afridi won the Man of the Tournament award in the 2007 T20 World Cup. Pakistan lost the finals to India in a last-over thriller but Afridi took 12 wickets with the ball and scored 91 runs at a staggering strike rate of 197.82. His three-dimensional show was one of the major reasons for Pakistan to play in the finals. 

2009 T20 World Cup (Tillakaratne Dilshan)

Asian powerhouse Sri Lanka reached the finals of the 2009 T20 World Cup but failed to win against Pakistan. However, Lankan opener Tillkaratne Dilshan was in pristine touch throughout the tournament and won the Man of the Tournament award for amassing 317 runs at an impressive strike rate of 144. He was the first batsman to score 300 runs in an edition of the T20 World Cup. 

2010 T20 World Cup (Kevin Pietersen)

The inventor of cricket England came out victorious in the 3rd edition of the T20 World Cup in 2010 in West Indies under the leadership of Paul Collingwood after defeating Australia in the finals. Kevin Pietersen contributed massively to England’s successful campaign with 248 runs in 6 innings at a stunning average of 62, including the match-winning 42* off 26 balls in the semis against Sri Lanka. 

2012 T20 World Cup (Shane Watson)

The 2012 T20 World Cup saw the beast version of Australian all-rounder Shane Watson. He helped his team reach the semi-finals of the event incredibly by scoring 249 runs in six innings with the bat and scalping 11 wickets with his seam bowling. For his all-around exhibition, Watson was adjudged the Man of the Tournament. 

2014 T20 World Cup (Virat Kohli)

Ace Indian batsman Virat Kohli earned the Man of the Tournament in the 2014 T20 World Cup in Bangaldesh. Two Asian Giants India and Sri Lanka made it to the finals and Sri Lanka won their first title by defeating the Men in Blue. Virat dismantled all the bowling lineup on his way from the first match to the final game and scored 319 runs in six matches with the help of four fifties, the highest run in a single edition. 

2016 T20 World Cup (Virat Kohli)

In the 2016 T20 World Cup, Virat Kohli became the first cricketer to bag two Man of the Tournament awards in the event. He was in the form of a lifetime and carried India to the semi-finals single-handedly, scoring 273 runs in 5 matches at an unreal average of 136.50. Moreover, The Delhi batsman smashed three fifties in the event. 

2021 T20 World Cup (David Warner)

Australia clinched their first title in the 2021 T20 World Cup under skipper Aaron Finch. But it was the sword of David Warner that played a huge role in winning the trophy for the Aussies. The Southpaw racked up 289 runs in 7 outings at a superb average of 48.16 and a healthy strike rate of 146.70. He soaked the pressure brilliantly in the semi-final and final and scored 49 and 53 apiece. 

2022 T20 World Cup (Sam Curran)

English captain Jos Buttler led the team to their second T20 World Cup title in 2022 in Australia. England had a turbulent start to the campaign but it fared smoothly against each team afterward till the final. Sam Curran was a star for England with the ball and especially in the death overs he excelled outstandingly. He picked up 13 wickets at a mere economy of 6.52 with the best of 5/10. The young left-arm seamer won the Man of the Match award in the finals for his sensational spell of 3/12 and eventually earned the Man of the Tournament award for being impactful consistently. 

2024 T20 World Cup (Jasprit Bumrah)

Ace Indian fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah won the Man of the Tournament accolade in the T20 World Cup 2024 in the West Indies and the USA and left a historical mark on the event’s history by becoming the first full-time bowler to win the award. He was one of the cornerstones for India for their 2nd title triumph, taking 15 wickets in 8 matches. Bumrah did not only take wickets but remained in misery throughout the event with his stunning bowling skills. 

List of Man of the Tournament Winners in T20 World Cup

Year Player Hosts
2007 Shahid Afridi (PAK) South Africa
2009 Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL) England
2010 Kevin Pietersen (ENG) West Indies
2012 Shane Watson (AUS) Sri Lanka
2014 Virat Kohli (IND) Bangladesh
2016 Virat Kohli (IND) India
2021 David Warner (AUS) UAE
2022 Sam Curran (ENG) Australia
2024 Jasprit Bumrah (IND) West Indies & USA

Discover more from Cricket

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like