Rizwan Leads Vancouver Knights, Babar to Play Under Him

After the T20 World Cup 2024, the cricket world is all set to experience another thrilling T20 tournament. Another new season of Global T20 Canada is coming back. Before starting the new season, The Vancouver Knights have chosen Pakistani wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Rizwan as their captain for this year’s T20 tournament in Canada. Babar Azam is set to play under Rizwan’s leadership.

New Captain for the Vancouver Knights:

Pakistan exited the group stage in the T20 World Cup 2024 held in the West Indies and the USA. Led by Babar Azam, the team struggled, losing to the USA and India but securing wins against Canada and Ireland in their final matches. Both Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan’s batting performances fell short, contributing to Pakistan’s failure to progress to the Super Eight stage.

The Vancouver Knights have chosen Mohammad Rizwan as their captain for GT20 Season 4, scheduled from July 25 to August 11. Rizwan, known for leading the Multan Sultans to 32 victories in 48 matches in the Pakistan Super League (PSL), guided them to runner-up finishes in the 2022, 2023, and 2024 editions of the tournament.

Babar Azam is set to team up with Mohammad Rizwan at the Vancouver Knights for the Global T20 Canada 2024. Both batsmen are eager to make a strong return and seize the chance offered by the upcoming tournament.

Franchise’s Announcement and the Squad:

The Vancouver Knights made an official announcement. They wrote, “Hear ye, hear ye! The Vancouver Knights have chosen their captain for GT20 Season 4: Sir @mrizwanpak! With his mighty batting skills and sharp wicketkeeping, he’s ready to lead our charge to victory. Prepare for battle, Knights!”

Seven Pakistani players, including Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shaheen Afridi, and Mohammad Nawaz, will participate in the GT20 tournament. The event will also feature notable T20 stars such as Chris Lynn, Azmatullah Omarzai, Marcus Stoinis, Sunil Narine, Colin Munro, Sandeep Lamichhane, Shakib Al Hasan, David Wiese, and David Warner.

Vancouver Knights Squad: Babar Azam, Asif Ali, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Jeremy Gordon, Rishiv Joshi, Sandeep Lamichhane, Dwaine Pretorius, Michael Rippon, Dipendra Singh Airee, Harsh Thaker, Ruben Trumpelmann, Paul van Meekeren, Sarmad Anwar, Mandeep Girdhar, Yuvraj Samra, Shubham Sharma, Ajayveer Singh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like