Sudharsan, Sharma, and Rana Drafted for First Two T20Is Against Zimbabwe

Sudharsan, Sharma, and Rana Drafted for First Two T20Is Against Zimbabwe
Image via Getty

In a surprise development, B Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma, and Harshit Rana have been added to India’s 15-member squad for the first two T20Is against Zimbabwe. This trio will replace Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, and Yashasvi Jaiswal, who will return to India alongside the T20 World Cup-winning squad.

Their departure has been delayed due to Hurricane Beryl in the Caribbean, resulting in the closure of the Barbados airport. Hence, Samson will join along with Dube and Jaiswal after a felicitation function in India before leaving for Zimbabwe.

Meanwhile, Rinku Singh and Khaleel Ahmed, who are part of the stand-by squad for the World Cup, will join the team directly in Harare from the Caribbean. Shubman Gill has been named captain for the series and will meet the squad in Zimbabwe after a holiday in the USA.

Sai Sudharsan is currently featuring for Surrey in Division 1 of the County Championship and is likeliest to join the team in Harare by July 4. “The 21-year-old Sudharsan, who made his international debut in December during the South Africa tour, earns a maiden call-up into the India T20I side. His selection has come on the back of a successful run in county cricket.

Moreover, Jitesh Sharma has been called up whereas his IPL 2024 season was ordinary at best, the 29-year-old getting just 187 runs in 12 innings at a strike rate of 131.69. Harshit Rana, though, has received his maiden call-up to the national team. Rana is part of the Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL 2024 and, with 23 wickets, ended up as the joint second-highest wicket-taker; probably he has been training at the BCCI’s National Cricket Academy.

The series of T20Is against Zimbabwe kicks off on 6 July, with the rest scheduled to be held on 7 July, 10 July, 13 July and 14 July at the Harare Sports Club.

India’s squad for 1st and 2nd T20Is against Zimbabwe

Shubman Gill (capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Dhruv Jurel (wk), Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande, Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Harshit Rana

Also, see:

Pakistan Retain Nida Dar for Women’s Asia Cup 2024

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like