Virendra Sehwag picks the ideal replacement of Rohit Sharma in the T20s

Former Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag supports the team management’s choice to make young player Shubman Gill the captain for the upcoming T20 series against Zimbabwe. Gill will be in charge of a less experienced team in this series, which might be the first for the new Indian head coach. Key players like India’s captain Rohit Sharma and star batter Virat Kohli, along with several other senior players, will not be playing in this T20 tour. Sehwag believes that Gill is a strong choice to eventually become the full-time captain once Rohit decides to step down.

Shubman Gill is here to stay. He plays in all three types of cricket matches. He had a very good year recently. He was unlucky not to be chosen for the 2024 T20 World Cup. In my opinion, it’s a good choice to have him as the captain. When Rohit Sharma steps down, Shubman Gill will be the perfect person to take over as captain,” Sehwag said on Cricbuzz.

The team includes only two players from the main team for the T20 World Cup: Yashasvi Jaiswal and Sanju Samson. The other players from the T20 World Cup team are taking a break.

Players like Rinku Singh, Avesh Khan, and Khaleel Ahmed, who were on the standby list for the T20 World Cup team, have now been included in the squad.

Young talents who have shown their skills in the Indian Premier League and in domestic cricket during the last year have been invited to join the Indian team multiple times.

In addition to well-known international players, Abhishek Sharma, Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, and Tushar Deshpande have been called up for the first time after their strong performances in the IPL.

The first game of the five-match series will take place on July 6 at the Harare Sports Club, and the second game will be on the following day at the same location. The final T20 match will be on July 14 at the Harare Sports Club.

India’s squad for T20I series against Zimbabwe: Shubhman Gill (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar and Tushar Deshpande.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like