VVS Laxman Joins Indian Team Enroute to Harare

Team India, led by Shubman Gill, is heading to Zimbabwe for the T20I series beginning on July 6. Gill, originally part of the Indian T20 World Cup squad, will rejoin the team in Harare. VVS Laxman, head of the National Cricket Academy (NCA), will take on the coaching role for Team India during this series. This tour presents a chance for India to showcase their T20 skills against Zimbabwe. Shubman Gill’s leadership and Laxman’s coaching expertise are expected to play pivotal roles in guiding the team through the upcoming matches.

BCCI’s Last-Minute Change in the Squad:

The cricket board has announced three changes to the squad for the first two T20Is against Zimbabwe. Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma, and Harshit Rana are coming in to replace T20 World Cup 2024 winners Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, and Yashasvi Jaiswal, who are taking a break in India. 

These World Cup-winning players will join the squad after their rest period. This decision aims to provide opportunities to new faces while allowing key players some recovery time before returning to international action.

In an official statement released by BCCI, BCCI wrote, “Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma, and Harshit Rana added to India’s squad for first two T20Is. The Men’s Selection Committee has named Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma and Harshit Rana as replacements for Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, and Yashasvi Jaiswal for the first two T20Is against Zimbabwe.”

BCCI further said, “Originally slated to join the Zimbabwe-bound squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series starting Saturday, 6th July, the trio will travel to India first with the rest of the ICC T20 World Cup-winning Indian squad before departing for Harare.”

The BCCI shared photos on their social media of the individuals who boarded the flight. The group featured Sharma, Parag, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Avesh Khan, Ravi Bishnoi, Washington Sundar, Tushar Deshpande, and NCA head Laxman.

India’s Squad for the First Two T20I Match The Tour Against Zimbabwe:

Shubman Gill (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Dhruv Jurel (WK), Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande, Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma (WK), Harshit Rana.

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on WhatsApp, Facebook, Twitter, Telegram and Instagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like