List of players to remain not out on 99 in IPL

Tata IPL 2022 Trophy
Tata IPL 2022 Trophy (Source: BCCI)

Indian Premier League is one of the best leagues in cricket. It has provided immense opportunities to youngsters since its inception. There have some great knocks and some unlucky ones also. Here in this article, we will talk about the players who were left stranded on the score of 99 in IPL. Till now only four players have remained not out on 99 in IPL. The list is as below

1) Suresh Raina – 99* vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (2013)

Suresh-Raina-99Runs-SRH-vs-CSK-IPL-2013, suresh raina 99 ipl csk vs srh
Suresh Raina against SRH in IPL 2019 after scoring 99* (Source: IPL/BCCI)

Known as Mr. IPL, Suresh Raina was the first player in the history of IPL who was left stranded on the score of 99 and he had to go back to the pavilion being not out at the score of 99. It all happened back in 2013 when Chennai Super Kings batted first against Sunriser Hyderabad at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad.

Batting first CSK posted 223/3 in 20 overs and also won the match by 77 runs. Suresh Raina hit the four on the last ball of the first inning when he was at 95 and after that boundary, he ended his inning with the score of 99 not out in just 52 balls.

2) Chris Gayle – 99* vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (2019)

Chris Gayle 99 vs RCB IPL 2019
Chris Gayle of PBKS scored 99* against RCB in IPL 2019 at Mohali (Source: BCCI/IPL)

In IPL 2019, Univeral Boss Chris Gayle playing for Punjab Kings remained not out on the individual score of 99 against his former IPL team Royal Challengers Bangalore. It was the 28th match of the IPL 2019 at Mohali. Despite the good inning of Chris Gayle (99* in 64 balls) Punjab Kings scored only 173/4 in 20 overs and lost the match by 8 wickets.

But with this inning, Chris Gayle became the 2nd player to go back to the pavilion on the score of 99 while remaining not out. Chris Gayle also remained not out in a similar way to Suresh Raina. He was on 95 and he hit a boundary on the very last ball of the inning and ended his inning on 99*.

3) Mayank Agarwal – 99* vs Delhi Capitals (2021)

Mayank Agarwal 99 vs DC 2021
Mayank Agarwal of Punjab Kings scored 99* against Delhi Capitals in IPL 2021 at Ahmedabad

Two years after Chris Gayle another player from Punjab Kings left stranded on the score of 99. This time it was Mayank Agarwal who was captaining Punjab Kings for the first time. It was the 29th match of the IPL 2021, between Punjab Kings and Delhi Capitals at Ahmedabad where Punjab Kings were asked to bat first.

While batting first, for Punjab Kings, Mayank Agarwal scored an unbeaten 99 in just 58 balls. However, this inning of Mayank was not enough for Punjab Kings as it scored only 166/6 in 20 overs and DC’s player chased this target with 7 wickets in hand and with 14 balls remaining.

4) Shikhar Dhawan – 99* vs Sunriseres Hyderabad (2023)

Shikhar Dhawan remains  not out on 99  against SRH in IPL 2023
Shikhar Dhawan remains not out on 99 against SRH in IPL 2023 (Image Credit – IPL/BCCI)

During the 14th match of the 16th season of IPL, Shikhar Dhawan, the captain of the Punjab Kings (PBKS) team, showcased exceptional form. He remained unbeaten with a score of 99 runs in 66 balls, hitting 12 fours and 5 remarkable sixes.

Although Dhawan required only 7 runs to complete his century in the last 4 balls, he could not do so due to playing 3 consecutive dot balls. Nonetheless, he ended his innings with a six on the final ball, maintaining an unbeaten score of 99 runs. With this Shikhar Dhawan became only 4th player in IPL history to remain not out on 99 in IPL.

List of players to remain not out on 99* in IPL

S.No. Player Team Against Year
1 Suresh Raina CSK SRH 2013
2 Chris Gayle PBKS RCB 2019
3 Mayank Agarwal PBKS DC 2021
4 Shikhar Dhawan PBKS SRH 2023

Also Read | Player to get out on 99 in IPL 

Also Read | Team with most 200+ scores in IPL history

Follow us on Twitter for more updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like