Rohit Sharma Leads ICC TWC Dream Team

In a proud moment for Indian cricket, Rohit Sharma has been named captain of the ICC’s T20 World Cup 2024 Team of the Tournament. Alongside him, five other Indian players have been recognized for their stellar performances in the recently concluded tournament.

Six Indians in the Spotlight

The ICC announced the prestigious team on July 1, 2024, with six Indian stars making the cut: Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Hardik Pandya, and Axar Patel. Their contributions were instrumental in India clinching the T20 World Cup title.

Rohit Sharma: A Captain’s Legacy

Rohit Sharma led India to their second T20 World Cup victory, making him a natural choice for the captaincy of the team of the tournament. He was the second-highest run-scorer with 257 runs, including a match-winning 92 against Australia and a crucial 57 in the semi-final. Sharma announced his retirement from T20Is after the World Cup win, marking the end of a glorious era.

Afghan Stars Shine

Afghanistan’s remarkable journey to the semi-finals was highlighted by the inclusion of three of their players in the team: Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rashid Khan, and Fazalhaq Farooqi. Gurbaz, the tournament’s highest run-scorer, played pivotal innings, including a vital 60 against Australia.

West Indies and Australia Represented

Nicholas Pooran from the West Indies was selected for his consistent performances, particularly his explosive 98 against Afghanistan. Marcus Stoinis was the sole Australian in the lineup, recognized for his all-round capabilities with both bat and ball.

The Complete Team of the Tournament

The ICC’s Team of the Tournament featured a balanced mix of talent from four nations. Here is the full lineup:

  • Rohit Sharma (c) – India
  • Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk) – Afghanistan
  • Nicholas Pooran – West Indies
  • Suryakumar Yadav – India
  • Marcus Stoinis – Australia
  • Hardik Pandya – India
  • Axar Patel – India
  • Rashid Khan – Afghanistan
  • Jasprit Bumrah – India
  • Arshdeep Singh – India
  • Fazalhaq Farooqi – Afghanistan
  • 12th player: Anrich Nortje – South Africa

A Glorious Campaign for India

India’s dominance in the tournament was evident with their players excelling in key matches. Jasprit Bumrah was the standout bowler with 15 wickets, including a crucial spell in the final. Arshdeep Singh, who matched the highest wicket tally of 17, and Hardik Pandya, with his all-round prowess, were instrumental in India’s success. Axar Patel’s contributions in the semi-final and final solidified his place in the team.

The Road Ahead

With several senior players like Rohit Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja announcing their retirement from T20Is, India will look to the next generation of cricketers to continue their legacy in the shortest format of the game. The future of Indian cricket remains bright as new talents rise to the occasion.

Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on WhatsApp, Facebook, Twitter, Telegram, and Instagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like
Read More

‘Proud to Bring Cup Home’

Captain of the Indian cricket team Rohit Sharma, who has stepped down from the game’s shortest format, responded…