T20 World Cup 2024 champions

T20 World Cup 2024 Champions 

View below topics in this post

T20 World Cup 2024 Champions: Well, India have finally done and broke their 11-year long ICC trophy drought after beating South Africa in the finals by 7 runs in Barbados.  

The men in blue no doubt were entered the World Cup with a tag of favourites to win and this time they made it true by becoming the World Champions.  

India reached the finals after securing satisfying victories in league, Super 8s, and semi –final of the tournament. 

The finale was the real test for the Rohit-led side, as at one stage the game was completely in Proteas’ favour when they required only 26 runs in the last 4 overs.  


Then came the vice-captain Hardik Pandya to bowl the 17th over and got the wicket of dangerous Heinrich Klaasen’s wicket. He gave only 4 runs in that over.  

Bumrah came in to bowl the 18th over and leaked only 2 runs with a scalp.  

Arshdeep again bowled a tight 19th over, as he gave just 4. With 16 required off the last 6 six, ball was once again in Hardik’s hand, and in his first bowl of the over, he again provided India a breakthrough, which also handed India the trophy.  

Not to forget, how Suryakumar Yadav took that stunner at the log on to send Miller back to pavilion. 

South Africa’s journey in T20 World Cup 2024  

South Africa made the impossible possible by breaking the jinx of not reaching the finals of ICC World Cups. This was the first time in 32 years for the Proteas to reach the finale of an ICC event. 

But how it all started, let’s quickly look at South Africa’s campaign in T20 World Cup 2024.  

The Proteas were placed in Group D during the league stage of the marquee event alongside Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, and Nepal.  


That phase was tough for the Markram-led side despite topping the points table chart with 4 wins in 4 games, as all of those 4 victories came with a slight margin.  

However, as soon as Super 8s stage of the tournament starts, South Africa showed their colours.  

They won all of their 3 Super 8s games in a comprehensive manner. And later secured the finale berth after bundling out Afghanistan at 56.  

The Proteas were extremely close to triumph, but they fell short by 7 runs and their dream to win an ICC trophy remained a dream again. 

Tournament Opposition Result Occassion
ICC ODI World Cup 1992 England Lost by 19 runs Semi-final
ICC ODI World Cup 1999 Australia Match tied Semi-final
ICC ODI World Cup 2007 Australia Lost by 7 wickets Semi-final
ICC T20 World Cup 2009 Pakistan Lost by 7 runs Semi-final
ICC T20 World Cup 2014 India Lost by 6 wickets Semi-final
ICC ODI World Cup 2015 New Zealand Lost by 4 wickets Semi-final
ICC ODI World Cup 2023 Australia Lost by 3 wickets Semi-final
ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Afghanistan won by 9 wickets Semi-final
ICC T20 World Cup 2024 India lost by 7 runs Final



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like